Southern Hospitality

Matthew 25:35 : For when I was hungry, you gave me food; when I was thirsty, you gave me drink; when I was homeless, you gave me a welcome…

Southern Hospitality

What happened to Southern Hospitality? I remember as a child my Grandmother opened her house to her friends. They had get togethers and there was music, laughter, and love. I think Southern Hospitality has given way to fear. We fear betrayal and theft. We fear being taken advantage of and walked on. Southern Hopsitality is gone and has been replaced by a spirit of fear.

This week I have been given the opportunity to extend my hospitality to family friends. We haven’t always seen eye to eye, we’ve exchanged harsh words and went our seperate ways. I have been getting back into Christ and praying a lot. I asked God to help me communicate what I feel and make myself more open and receptive. This was my test.

They are with me until Friday. I am actually proud of myself. I opened my heart and my home. I got past my fear of loosing things and opened my heart to help.

Three Beautiful Things

  1. The opportunity to be a blessing.
  2. The joy and satisfaction that fills my heart after following God’s commands, especially whey it’s a huge challenge for me.
  3. The fresh smell of grass and wet concrete on a rainy day. I find beauty in the monochromatic colors of a cloudy day.
Leave a comment

Filed under house guests, The Hospitality Club, three beautiful things

Leave a Reply

